Man stabbed to death by step-son during scuffle with wife

A 33-year old man was stabbed to death during a scuffle at Sisila Mawathe in Boralesgamuwa at around 3:30 pm yesterday (Feb 15).

Police said that an arguement which had taken place between the man and his wife had led to the former being stabbed by his step-son.

The post-mortem examination on the remains of the victim who has been identified by the name of D.G.S. Dayawangsa will be carried out today at the Kalubowila hospital.

Police have launched a search operation to arrest the suspect who is reported to have fled the area following the incident.



Report on Mannar mass grave bone samples before court on Wednesday

The radiocarbon dating report on five bone samples which were sent to the US for testing purposes would be produced before the Mannar Magistrates Court next Wednesday.

"The results of the sixth bone sample will be sent by the Beta Analytics Department in due course" Special Judicial Medical Officer (JMO) Dr. Saminda Rajapaksa told Times Online.

The report on the five bone samples were received last night, he added.

He also noted that the report would be made available to the public domain following its submission before court.

World Bank SA Vice-President Shafer calls on President Sirisena

World Bank Vice President for South Asia Hartwig Schafer called on President Maithripala Sirisena at the latter's official residence today (Feb 16).

"I conveyed that the World Bank, a partner of more than 60 years, stands ready to support the government" Mr. Scahfer said on his Twitter handle following the meeting.

Secretary to the President Udaya Seneviratne, World Bank Resident Representative, President’s Economic Advisor Dr Sarath Rajapathirana and NEC Secretary General Prof Lalith Samarakoon were also present during this occasion.

Three Agriculture state bodies vested with State Minister Aluwihare

State Minster of Agriculture, Irrigation and Rural Economic Affairs Wasantha Aluwihare has been vested with three Agriculture state bodies from this week onwards.

Accordingly, the Hadabima Authority of Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka Council for Agriculture Research Policy, and the National Post Harvest Management Institute have now been vested with Mr. Aluwihare.

Minister of Agriculture P. Harrison had issued a gazette notification to this effect.

Police probe death of drowned tourist at Mount Lavinia beach

Police have commenced investgations into the death of a UK national who died by drowning at the Mount Lavinia beach at around 4:45 pm yesterday (Feb 15).

The foreigner, a 77-year old had succmbed to death upon admission to the Kalubowila General Hospital. According to the police, the suspect who has been identified as David Anthony Kirby was temporarily residing at a house in Vidyala Mawathe, Mount Lavinia.

The incident is reported to have taken place when the victim was washed away while bathing at seas along with his wife.

A post-mortem examination will be carried out on the body today.


One injured in fire at a Veyangoda residence

One individual has been hospitalised after sustaining burn injuries as a result of a fire that had broken out at a residence in Veyangoda at around 6:40 pm yesterday, police said.

Veyangoda police who were notified regarding the fire had taken swift measures to contain it along with the assisstance of area residents.

The estimated cost of the damages has not been determined as of yet.

Police are conducting further investigations to determine the cause of the fire.




IMF officials arrive in Sri Lanka to discuss USD 260 million loan

A team of International Monetary Fund (IMF) officials arrived in Sri Lanka yesterday (Feb 15) to discuss  the USD 260 million loan which is to be provided to Sri Lanka.

The team is expected to commence talks in this regard from tomorrow onwards along with the Central Bank, Treasury, and the Finance Ministry.

The IMF has already approved a loan of USD 105 million out of which four tranches have already been obtained.

The fifth tranch which was expected to be given to Sri Lanka last November was suspended due to the  political crisis in the country.

The team of IMF officials had arrived in the country upon a request made by a Sri Lankan ministerial delegation who had visited the IMF following the conclusion of the crisis.

As of now, Sri Lanka has obtained loans upto USD 1000 million from the IMF.

Hizbullah says ‘no’ to garlanding and giving of tokens at state functions

The Eastern Province Governor's Office has informed all state government bodies in the area to refrain from garlanding, felicitiating or presenting acknowledgment tokens to the Governor at all state functions.

The letter was signed by the Secretary to the Governor Asanka Abeywardena and was handed over to the Eastern Province Chief Minister, Secretaries of all Ministries, Deputy Chief Ministers and state department officials.

Mr. Abeywardena said that the letter was sent upon a request by Eastern Province Governor M.L.A.M Hizbullah.

INTERPOL sends report on 31 Lankan arrested suspects including Madush to SL INTERPOL wing

The INTERPOL police unit in Dubai has sent a report to its Sri Lankan branch concerning the arrest of 31 Sri Lankan suspects including druglord Makandure Madush.

The names of the suspects is reported to have been mentioned in the report.

This is the first official document sent by the Dubai government in connection with the arrest.

UNP has already commenced restructuring of the party to face elections : MP Kariyawasam

The United National Party has already commenced restructuring of the party in lieu of the upcoming elections, UNP General Secretary Akil Viraj Kariyawasam said.

He added that the party with the assisstance of all United National Front parliamentarians and representatives in other local bodies would address the public in each district.

Accordingly, one such programme would be held in Kalutara on March 10, Mr. Kariyawasam revealed.